Switching From Learning Guitar to Piano

• Thread starter JGaulard
  • Start date
JGaulard

JGaulard

Staff member
I've been playing guitar consistently for about four years now. I've gotten somewhat decent at playing a few things, but I wouldn't say I'm good by any stretch of the imagination. I'm not sure what the problem is. My fingers? My age? My learning ability? I practice using Guitar Tricks and have an awesome guitar (Martin Road Series DRS2). I really don't know.

Don't get me wrong, I'm very decent when it comes to playing a few different styles, but I honestly don't think I'm where I should be by this point. I would never play in front of anyone because I would only embarrass myself. I've recently begun practicing daily in two 15 minute sessions as opposed to the one half hour session. I read that breaking the practice sessions down into multiple ones throughout the day can help. But honestly, sometimes I wonder why I'm playing guitar at all. I used to feel this way when I was learning how to fly airplanes. After 35 hours, I asked myself why I was learning in the first place. A hobby? To go places? I never answered that question, so I quit. With me, I need a goal or a reason to do things. I don't just do them for nothing at all.