The Satan Caves in Brewster, New York

JGaulard

Staff member
I wrote a post back in 2006 about the Satan Caves in Brewster, New York. Can you believe that? I've been blogging since 2006? Actually, I think I began in 2004, but alas, now I'm just showing off. Anyway, since I wrote that post, I've received hundreds of comments from folks all around the area telling others about their adventures in the caves. I just received another comment tonight, which is why I'm starting a brand new thread here in this forum. Before I go any further, please take a look at the post I wrote all those years ago:

https://www.jaygaulard.com/satan-caves/

Make sure you scroll down to see all of the incredible comments. They're pretty awesome.

The best thing about the comments is that people get/got to share their experiences about climbing through the caves. And boy, do people have experiences. A lot of experiences. The worst thing about the comments is that people can't upload any media, such as photos to them. And they can't embed YouTube videos. What's more, after they write a comment, they don't receive any notification when someone replies to it. So basically, once someone from the area (Brewster, Carmel, Mahopac, Croton Falls, North Salem, Pawling, Danbury, Putnam Lake in Putnam and Westchester counties - you get the idea) drops off a comment, the conversation really doesn't go any further than that, unless they come back to see if anyone replied, of course. And sometimes people have done that, which I've loved.

Anyway, this is a forum, so it's fully functional in that users can watch the thread by clicking the "Watch" button up top. When someone writes something new or someone gets a response to something they've written, they'll receive an email telling them so. Users can also upload photos and copy/paste video URLs from YouTube to add to the thread. It's much more feature-filled over here, so that's why I wanted to get the ball rolling on this page.