Do I Have to Give Graduation Gifts?

15Katey

I have a question. A friend's son graduate from college about a month ago and I received an "announcement" in the mail a day or two ago. I opened the letter and read what it had to say. I said to myself, "Oh, that's nice. Thank you for telling me." But after a bit, I thought, "Wait a second. This guy wants money!" I mean, why else would he send me this announcement? I didn't attend the graduation, nor to I really care deep down that he graduated. Everyone graduates. Heck, I graduated with a few different college degrees and no one ever gave me any gifts. Especially not any money. So my question is, should I send my friend's son a monetary gift just to keep things good between us or should I go with my gut instinct that says I should just throw the announcement in the trash. I'm leaning toward the trash option.

KristinaW

You should in no way give a graduation gift. This nonsense has to stop. A friend's kid? Really? Yeah right. First off, that was extremely rude and presumptuous that they send you an announcement. They should have included an envelope so you can just stuff the money in that to send back. That announcement they sent seems overtly obvious. I honestly can't stand this sort of thing.