Why Blogging is Good

Newman

Let's forget about business blogging and all of the supposed benefits blogging can offer your company as a whole. I'm not even sure those benefits exist anymore, now that every company on earth has jumped on this bandwagon. What I'd like to discuss in this post has more to do with personal blogging and how it can make you a better human being. Well, not even that. It can make "you" someone you like being around a lot more. It's good for the soul and the art of writing regularly can encourage tremendous personal growth. Trust me. I've been doing this for over 14 years. I doubt I'd be the person I am today without the creative outlet we call blogging.

I'll list a few reasons I think personal blogging is beneficial below and then expand upon each. Mind you, these won't be in any particular order and may come from my own personal experiences. Beware.

1. Blogging can make you seem interesting. I began writing online way back in 2004. I bought a house and posted pictures and stories to show it off to my friends and family. A strange thing happened after I began passing my website address around. Folks who I would never have expected to, came up to me and began discussing what I was up to. Apparently, my website and made its way to the far flung corners of the earth and I began gaining regular followers. This, in turn, gave me encouragement to continue on and within just a few years, I had passed the 2,000 post mark. Even today, I receive comments on posts I've written over a decade ago. And some posts have received hundreds of comments, which as you can guess, makes me seem somewhat important and dare I say, interesting.